Live In Ghent by Canada’s Ukulele Bluesman Manitoba Hal

Out Now: Live In Ghent by Canada’s Ukulele Bluesman
Manitoba Hal
View the video for “Come To Me” here
Live In Ghent is available to purchase on Bandcamp
“A big man with a big baritone voice, Brolund runs through a number of classic blues tunes by legends like Robert Johnson, Mississippi John Hurt, and Bukka White, along with a handful of original compositions. A master storyteller, Brolund captures the essence of the blues in its simplest form.” – Scene Magazine
“Yep, this is what college coffeehouses were all about in the late 60s. Hal is a growler, playing and singing the blues solo with his ukulele… A charming pro that holds his own against time and tide in fine style.” – Midwest Record
Canadian blues artist Manitoba Hal has forged an international reputation for engaging and connecting with his audience through songs that are mournful, hopeful, silly, romantic and introspective. He proves that the ukulele can be small but mighty as he pulls out powerful blues riffs and melodies adding subtle important accompaniment using looping technology.
His new album, the two-disc set Live In Ghent was recorded in April 2016 at Missy Sippy Blues & Roots Club while on a tour stop in Belgium. The result is a fascinating combination of masterful musicianship, enthusiastic audience and a night to remember. Covering classic blues songs by Robert Johnson, Bukka White, Mississippi John Hurt and more. Manitoba Hal also performs several original songs and a cover of a popular Tom Waits song.
His strong foundation in American roots / blues music, confident baritone voice, and distinctive, original music have made him a solid draw at festivals, house concerts and soft seat theatres in Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia. He has performed at the Orangeville Blues & Jazz Festival, Kitchener Blues Festival, Winnipeg Folk Festival, Vancouver Island Music Festival, New York Uke Festival, Ukulele Festival of Great Britain and Melbourne Ukulele Festival and he has been a main stage headliner at international ukulele festivals such as the Cairns Ukulele Festival and the Grand Northern Ukulele Festival.
Live In Ghent Track Listing
Disc 1
1. Come On In My Kitchen 2:12
2. Way Down In The Hole 3:05
3. Atlanta Moan 3:10
4. Automobile 2:22
5. Baby Please Don’t Go 3:29
6. Evangeline Blues 3:53
7. Dancing In The Moonlight 4:59
8. Let The Mermaids Flirt With Me 2:54
9. Sweet Home Chicago 3:34
10. St James Infirmary 5:32
11. My Babe 2:37
12. Learned Pigs & Fireproof Women 3:52
Disc 2
1. Ain’t No Grave 3:48
2. Tastes Like Chicken 3:45
3. High Fever Blues 2:42
4. They’re Red Hot 3:38
5. Built For Comfort 3:15
6. Somebody On Your Bond 2:42
7. Key To The Highway 2:16
8. Dig Me A Grave 5:32
9. Turn Out The Lights 2:58
10. My Creole Belle 2:09
11. Who Do You Love 5:17
12. The Thrill is Gone 4:51

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s