There is fine ensemble acting here, and
masterly mood control. Riveting
– **** Financial Times

Apple Tree Yard is a drama that is deeply engrossing and has a storyline that will leave keep you guessing and constantly surprised.
– ***** The Mail on Sunday

Intense and racy drama – your new must-see series.” – The Sun

Apple Tree Yard does feel like a very female thing
… in a positive, celebratory way
– The Guardian

What makes this one different is the queasy feeling it instilled
in your gut from the off.
– **** The Daily Telegraph

Gritty.” – ***** Daily Mail

Very addicive.” – Daily Express

Arrow Films is pleased to announce the DVD and Blu-Ray Box Set release of BBC One’s audacious psychological thriller Apple Tree Yard on Monday 20th February 2017. The four-part drama series will also be available to download from iTunes episode by episode with the first episode available on Monday 23rd January 2017.

Two time Oscar nominee Emily Watson (The Theory of Everything, Everest, Punch Love Drunk) leads the outstanding cast including Ben Chaplin (Mad Dogs, Cinderella) and Mark Bonnar (Catastrophe, Line Of Duty).

Based on Louise Doughty’s best-selling novel, Apple Tree Yard has been adapted for BBC One by BAFTA winning screenplay-writer Amanda Coe (Room At The Top, Life In Squares) and produced by Kudos (River, Broadchurch).

Married with two grown-up children, Yvonne Carmichael (Emily Watson), an eminent geneticist, lives a contented, conventional suburban life. But her world spirals into chaos, when a chance encounter leads to an impulsive and passionate affair with a charismatic stranger (Ben Chaplin).

Despite all her careful plans to keep her home life and career safe and separate from her affair, fantasy and reality soon begin to overlap and everything she values is put at risk, as a life-changing act of violence leads to a Crown Court trial.

Yvonne’s downward trajectory is searingly realised; hers is a life ripped apart as the consequence of one, single, spur-of-the-moment decision. A decision any one of us might make.



Release Date Monday 20th February 2017
Language English
Rating 15
Format DVD & Blu-ray
Number of Episodes 4
Running Time 4 x 60 minutes
Catalogue Number FCD1418 (DVD) / FCD1426 (BR)

Arrow Films Official Website