Status Quo: Deluxe Editions:‘1+9+8+2’, ‘Back To Back’,‘In The Army Now’ and ‘Ain’t Complaining’Offering

Status Quo are delighted to announce the release of deluxe expanded 2CD / 3CD versions of a quartet of classic albums that were released on the revered Vertigo label, namely ‘1+9+8+2’, ‘Back To Back’, ‘In The Army Now’ and‘Ain’t Complaining’.  These special editions are to be issued by UMC/Mercury, on 28 September 2018.  Offering 31 previously unreleased tracks/versions between them, all the discs have been remastered by Andy Pearce from original tapes where available.  These carefully curated special releases come with an enhanced booklet containing sleeve notes from new interviews by Classic Rock’s Dave Ling and also feature rare photos and memorabilia from the personal collection of Bob Young [long time tour manager and often co-writer]. Additionally, the albums offer new artwork by Hugh Gilmour.

‘1+9+8+2’ was released and became a number one hit in that year, the album’s title marked the 20th anniversary of Francis Rossi and Alan Lancaster meeting. It was the first album to feature Quo stalwart Andy Bown. This 2-CD remastered version contains a bonus disc of B-Sides, Extended Mixes and 22 unreleased live tracks taken from rehearsal sessions.

‘Back To Back’ was the band’s 16th studio album, released in 1983, it was a Top Ten hit for the band and was the last album to feature Alan Lancaster.  Four singles were taken from it: ‘Ol Rag Blues’, ‘A Mess of Blues’, ‘Marguerita Time and ‘Going Down Town Tonight’. This 2-CD remastered version contains a bonus disc of B-Sides, songs by Bernard Frost and Francis Rossi and features a previously unavailable LP outtake track.

Released in 1986 ‘In The Army Now’ was the first album to feature current member Rhino Edwards.  It was Status Quo’s 17th studio album and reached No. 7 in the UK charts.  This 2-CD remastered version contains a bonus disc of B-Sides (including one that was never released), Extended Mixes and previously unreleased live material.

A 3CD set, this remastered edition of ‘Ain’t Complaining’ contains a bonus disc of B-Sides including previously unreleased outtakes and remixes and a BBC Show live from Wembley in 1988. ‘Ain’t Complaining’ is Status Quo’s 18th studio album and reached No. 12 in the UK charts.  It had three singles taken from it: ‘Who Gets the Love’ / ‘Burning Bridges’ and the title track.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s